What’s in a Name?

 

I’ve been hesitant to jump into blogging. A storyteller since I was able, I’ve been hard pressed to find a good reason to blog except for the facts that I have a lot of stories to tell and that I need to start somewhere if I’m going to go after this call to write. I’ve thought of about every excuse I could, not to, yet here I am.

Hello.

The longest excuse I’ve held onto is that I could not think of a witty title for my blog.

Recently, on vacation, I finally conceded: “Okay God, if writing is supposed to be a part of my life, and I don’t have any other outlets, I’ll do it. I’ll blog. But, I need a witty name.” (I do that a lot, make deals with God like he ponders my wagers).

I had a few stipulations for this title of my blog; Firstly, it needed to be clever, and secondly, It couldn’t trap me to one genre, because I don’t cook anything blog-worthy enough to have a cooking blog, and I’m not nearly crafty enough to have a DIY blog, and after spending all of my other waking hours devoted to students in the classroom, the last thing I want to write about is teaching.

So, I text my mom: “Think of a cool name for my blog. I’m just going to write about whatever I feel like writing about, and I don’t care if it’s only you that reads it, but I want a clever name and I’m not very clever.”

Her response: “Big Red Writes (insert laughing-while-crying emoji)”

Evidently she’s not very clever either. After trying to think of a variety of genre-less blog names, I felt defeated.

One morning, shortly after I put blogging back on it’s shelf, I woke up later than usual with little motivation to prep the healthy breakfast I normally make myself. I looked around to see what I could grab, and, since we had just recently gotten home from vacation, I had nothing but a Ziploc bag of homemade chocolate chip cookies sitting on the counter.

I ate 4.

For breakfast.

After I scarfed down the last one, I had an epiphany of sorts: Cookies for Breakfast had to be my blog name. Not because I often have cookies for breakfast (I don’t). And not because I’ll be writing about cookies, or breakfast, because I probably won’t (but maybe I will, sometimes). It’s because we live our daily lives trying to figure out what God’s best for us is, or what we think OUR best is for ourselves, or what we think our children’s best is for them, or…..

And sometimes, we get tired.

And sometimes, we get it wrong.

And sometimes, we do what we know we shouldn’t, we just have Cookies for Breakfast.

Leave a Reply

